↑ Return to Referees

Andy Yates

Name: Andy Yates

DOB: 31st July 1974

Birthplace: Leigh, Greater Manchester, England

Height: 5’7″

147′s Officiated: 4

First Pro Match: November 2006 (Masters Qualifying)

First Pro Ranking Match: June 2007 (Shanghai Masters Qualifying)

Most Memorable Match: Steve Davis 0-4 Tom Ford (2007 Grand Prix Round Robin Stage)

 

Career Summary

One of the new up and coming referees in the professional game, Leigh’s Andy Yates first put on the white gloves in 2003 following a visit to the Crucible as a spectator which immediately left him wanting to get involved in the game somehow.  Knowing that he was unlikely to ever be good enough to play there, he decided that becoming the man in the middle would be the next best thing and just over three years later was officiating his first professional match, a Masters qualifier between Mark Allen and Robert Stephen.

His development continued and at the start of the 2007/8 season he was given the opportunity to take charge of his first ranking event match, a close affair between Lee Spick and Martin Gould in the first round of the 2007 Shanghai Masters qualifiers. Things were soon to get even better for him however as at the 2007 Grand Prix he was given the opportunity to referee at the venue stage in Aberdeen due to the controversial round robin format then in operation. Not only was he able to referee a match involving the legendary Steve Davis, but he was able to witness his opponent, Leicester’s Tom Ford, put in a truly memorable performance to make three century breaks including a maximum on the way to a stunning 4-0 victory.

Andy in action during his first ranking event match at the 2007 Shanghai Masters qualifiers

Since then he has continued to gain experience in the professional arena and like many referees, one day hopes to be able to  take charge of a match at the greatest venue of all, the famous Crucible Theatre in Sheffield.

2010/11

With the increased amount of events staged from the beginning of the 2010/11 season, referees like Andy were given the opportunity to officiate a greater number of professional matches, particularly at the new Players Championship events.

Not only was Andy selected to officiate in the first of these events however but he was to be the man in the middle for a sensational maximum break by Norway’s Kurt Maflin against Michal Zielinski!

A further highlight was to come at the EPTC4 event at the South West Snooker Academy in Gloucester when Andy was selected to officiate in his first ranking event final.

2011/12

Andy continued to be involved during the 2011/12 season, officiating at a number of the UK-based PTC events in both Sheffield and Gloucester.

PTC2 2011

Most notably Andy was to take charge of the last 64 match between legends Ronnie O’Sullivan and Stephen Hendry at the PTC event in Gloucester, a contest that O’Sullivan would win 4-1.

Another highlight was to come at the qualifiers for the 2012 Haikou World Open qualifiers as Andy officiated a maximum break for the fourth time in his career, this time by Marco Fu during the sixth frame of his last 48 match against Matt Selt.

Trivia

Andy cites the guidance of top referees Eirian Williams and Jan Verhaas as invaluable to his successful career so far, though he will admit to one embarrassing moment when once during a match he found that he had just 14 reds on the table and had to check all of the pockets to find the missing ball stuck in one of the pockets.

As well as being a referee, Andy is not a bad player either as evidenced by a high break of 94 and he also enjoys playing 9-ball pool and poker when not standing out there under the lights.

Finally he says that the best part of being a referee is the fact that he is involved with world class sportsmen, while the worst is the time he has to spend away from his family, including his three children, Jason, Katy, and young Dominic who was born in May 2009.

Articles

In July 2011 Andy helped to explain various changes to the rules of snooker here at PSB.

Many thanks to Andy for the extensive information provided.
  • one stop

    how about a stephen hendry power shake

  • Ron Weir

    I wrote recently, but saw no reply, so here I go again!

    What is the ruling if a player, having correctly potted a red, his white ball is completely surrounded by the remaining reds, with no possibility of playing ANY other ball on the table?

    2. Is it allowed for the ‘ snookered’ player to select the lowest value ball remaining on the table, to reduce his penalty in this case? Even though he cannot possibly play it?

    3. Can his opponent insist on the snookered player playing again from the snookered position?

    Many thanks for your reply

    Ron Weir

  • Rob

    Help

    I feel like I have been hard done by in my last match.

    This is a complicated one so I will try my best to explain.

    My opponent has a free ball. (Not as obvious as you think it is going to be)

    There are brown blue pink and black left in play.

    He nominates pink as the balls come to rest this is the scenario.

    Cue ball approximate position is near the black spot

    I am snookered full ball on the brown by the blue ball

    Both balls approximate position is their own spots

    The pink ball (nominated as the previous shot free ball) is just to the right of the pink spot.

    The pink is blocking the path of the white to the right hand side of the brown ball.

    Therefore I argued as the pink is in a direct line with the right hand side of the brown then it must be deemed as a ‘snooker’ therefore a foul stroke as the player has ‘snookered’ me with his nominated free ball.

    The referee argued that the full ball snooker from the blue was the ball that was snookering me on the brown.

    I aregued if the blue was nearer to the cue ball than the pink then I would agree but as the pink was the first ball in a direct line from the white towards the brown then the’free ball’ was effectively snookering me as it was the first ball that was blocking part of the brown ball.

    I would be gutted if I was wrong, I am sure that I am right.

    One thing I do know is that the definition of a ‘snooker’ is not being able to see both sides of a ball, one which many fall for in a free ball situation. A player’s interpretation of a snooker is different than the actual definition.

    I look forward to your replies on this.

    Rob
    Manchester

  • yvan beauchamp

    I would like to know a rule on a miss
    if a player has 27 points and there is 22 points on the table and is snookerd
    he then missis the brown
    can he be put back as a miss
    I was told that if either player needs a snooker that it can not be put back
    and you either have to play the shot or have him play the shot and if you are snookererd you have a free ball
    can you please inform me if this is correct
    thanks in advance YVAN BEAUCHAMP my email is tcbinaflash90@hotmail.ca