World Snooker Awards 2011: Higgins and Trump Collect Gongs

Tonight saw the World Snooker Awards bash take place at the Dorchester Hotel and among the winners were John Higgins and Judd Trump who each took home two awards. Click below to see who else won what…

Tonight’s Winner’s are:

  • John Higgins: World Snooker Player of the Year & Journalists Player of the Year
  • Judd Trump: Performance of the Year and Fans Player of the Year
  • Mark Williams: Player’s, Player of the Year
  • Jack Lisowski: Rookie of the Year
  • Rory McLeod: Magic Moment of the Year (Winning black vs Tony Drago at the Sky Shootout)
  • Joe and Fred Davis, John Pulman, Ray Reardon, John Spencer, Alex Higgins, Steve Davis and Stephen Hendry: Inducted into Snooker Hall of Fame
  • Ronnie O’Sullivan, Stephen Hendry, Kurt Maflin, Barry Hawkins, Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon, Mark Williams, Rory McLeod: Inducted into 147 Club

Judging by the comments on Twitter from the various snooker personalities attending the awards, it seems as though they have been enjoyed by all and like in darts it is good to see the game’s best players given the opportunity to let their hair down and celebrate an excellent season of snooker in this manner.

As far as the awards themselves are concerned I can’t particularly disagree with any of the selections and am pleased that John, Mark and Judd in particular have all been recognised as they have been the three stories of the season for differing reasons.