Another Day, Another 147 For Ding Junhui

  • Click here to view Ding’s 147

What can you say? Just two days after completing his third career 147 during his PTC12 match against Brandon Winstone, Ding Junhui has done it again, with a further maximum break against James Cahill during the PTC11 event…

Click here to view my updated 147’s page.

During the fifth and final frame of his last 128 match against James Cahill this morning, attention was first drawn to Ding’s latest maximum attempt by Neal Foulds on Twitter who at the time was commentating on the match for World Snooker TV.

Initially the balls were well set but as the break progressed, the opportunity looked to be getting away from Ding as he was faced with a thin shot with seemingly little prospect of making it back onto the black. Incredibly however the red not only went in, but coming back round the table the cue ball struck the yellow in such a way as to leave him perfectly on the next black.

There was however drama still to come as with one red tight to the side-cushion, Ding was able to successfully dislodge it, but in doing so left himself only a tricky thin cut on the black, a horrible shot to take on at any time, left alone for a maximum. Ding though was able to successfully make it and as the white travelled around the table, it just came on far enough to avoid him being snookered on the final red by the blue to the left-centre and leave the maximum very much on.

The final difficulty would be a yellow with the rest but after what had gone before, you somehow knew that he was not going to let this one slip and he duly potted it followed by the five remaining colours to complete his fourth career maximum, behind only John Higgins, Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O’Sullivan in the all-time list.

Congratulations also to referee Hilde Moens who just two days after having officiated her first 147 break, that compiled by Matthew Stevens on Thursday, has now added a second to her CV.

Whatever next?