Final 2012/13 PTC Order of Merit Takes Shape

As the PTC12 event reaches its conclusion, with Tian Pengfei’s semi-final defeat to Order of Merit leader Mark Selby, the 32 players on their way to Galway for the PTC Finals look now to be all but confirmed, subject to clarification as to who exactly will qualify from the APTC Order of Merit.

Also confirmed are the eight amateurs who will earn a main tour card for the 2013/14 season…

PTC Grand Finals Qualification

  • Click here to view the final PTC Order of Merit (snookerorg)
  • Click here to view the final APTC Order of Merit (snookerorg)
  • Click here to view the qualifying criteria

As explained in the official qualifying criteria, the following 32 players will qualify for the PTC Grand Finals in Galway:

  • Top 25 from the PTC Order of Merit – 25
  • APTC Event Winners – 3
  • Next four from the APTC Order of Merit – 4

So who have we got?

The PTC Top 25

  • Mark Selby, Judd Trump, Stephen Maguire, John Higgins, Neil Robertson, Ding Junhui*, Rod Lawler, Mark Allen, Martin Gould, Ben Woollaston, Graeme Dott, Jamie Burnett, Andrew Higginson, Jack Lisowski, Barry Hawkins, Anthony McGill, Ken Doherty, Joe Swail, Ali Carter, Joe Perry, Marco Fu, Mark Williams, Alfie Burden, Kurt Maflin, Mark Davis

*note that Ding Junhui has already qualified via the APTC Order of Merit (below), so his spot on the PTC Order of Merit will go to 26th placed Mark Joyce

The APTC Event Winners

  • Stuart Bingham**, Stephen Lee***

**note that Stuart Bingham has won two APTC events

***note that Stephen Lee currently remains suspended

The APTC Four

  • Ding Junhui, Li Hang, Robert Milkins, Tom Ford

Plus potentially Cao Yupeng and Xiao Guodong, assuming that the extra APTC event winners spot is re-allocated to the APTC Order of Merit, and Stephen Lee does not compete. This is however subject to official confirmation.

Main Tour Qualifiers 2013/14

As stated by World Snooker previously:

“The top 8 players (professional or amateur) taken from the PTC Order of Merit, who have not already qualified will be awarded a place on the 2013/2014 Main Tour.”

Effectively, this means that the following eight players will be awarded a main tour place for next season:

  • Joe Swail, Andrew Pagett, Gary Wilson, Andrew Norman, Allan Taylor, John Astley, Kyren Wilson, Chris Norbury

EBSA Amateur Rankings

As a final point, this season there have also been a series of amateur tournaments, run alongside a few of the ET events during 2012/13. I have not seen a final ranking list for this event, however it is worth noting that Jason Ferguson recently revealed to Snooker Island (see here), that the qualifying event, which will see three more players earn a main tour nomination for 2013/14, will take place on 27th April 2013.

More information on that when it is made available.