On Q For PTC2

96 of the World’s Leading Professionals, from 14 countries, will be lining up at the South West Snooker Academy, from 8-10 August, to participate in World Snooker’s PTC Event 2.

Ronnie O’Sullivan won the first event, beating On Q Promotions’ Academy based Joe Perry.

Local Gloucester favourites Rob Milkins and Jack Lisowski will both be bidding to win on home soil. Bristol’s Judd Trump, runner up in the World Championship, leads the West Country challenge, along with Andrew Norman, who is also based at the South West Snooker Academy.

The format of the event sees half the field play down as far as the Last 16 on the first day, the other half on the second day, while the Last 16 through to the Final are completed on Day Three. Play starts at 9am on the first two days, with the last session of play due to start at 9pm. There are an incredible 63 matches on each of the first two days, across seven sessions of play. The Final Day comprises the Last 16 at 10am, Quarter Finals 1pm, Semi Finals 4pm and the Final at 7pm.

Tickets are available at just £15 a day or £35 for a 3 day season ticket. Children Under 16 accompanied by an adult can come along for just £5.

Give the Academy a ring on 01452 223214 or call in and buy a ticket in person. Fans can also purchase online at www.southwestsnookeracademy.com

The qualifying rounds take place 6-7 August. These have attracted another 100+ players from all five continents, including Gloucester players Nick Pearce and Michael Wasley.

Amongst the line up are World Ladies Champion Reanne Evans, along with former Top players Tony Knowles and David Gray, China’s Zhang Anda, and Academy based 13 year old Shane Castle, who is a hot tip for future success. Admittance is free for the qualifying days. There is a bar and catering at the South West Snooker Academy.


Fans are keen to know which day ‘their’ favourite is playing and here are some of the key names and the times they will be playing:

Monday 8 August:

9am: Mark Williams, Ken Doherty, Jimmy White, Joe Swail, Kacper Filipiak

11am: Ricky Walden, Jamie Cope, Martin Gould, Barry Hawkins, Alan McManus, Luca Brecel, Tian Pengfei, James Wattana

1pm: Steve Davis, Ryan Day, Gerard Greene, Mark King, Michael Holt

3pm: Graeme Dott, Robert Milkins, Ding Junhui, Peter Ebdon, Stephen Lee

At 5pm and 7pm second round is played and at 9pm the Last 32 matches.

Tuesday 9 August:

9am: Mark Selby, Shaun Murphy, Marco Fu, Liang Wenbo, Jimmy Robertson

11am: Neil Robertson, Judd Trump, Dominic Dale, Mark Davis, Mark Allen, Adam Wicheard

1pm: Ronnie O’Sullivan, Matthew Stevens, Jack Lisowski, Stephen Hendry, Jamie Jones, Stuart Bingham

3pm: John Higgins, Joe Perry, Tony Drago, Stephen Maguire, Allister Carter

At 5pm and 7pm second round is played and at 9pm the Last 32 matches.